Philippine Standard time

Mariano Marcos State University
Featured Partner Institution

Mariano Marcos State University (MMSU) was established on January 6, 1978, under Presidential Decree 1279, issued by President Ferdinand E. Marcos. The decree merged the then-Mariano Marcos Memorial College of Science and Technology in Batac and the Northern Luzon State College in Laoag City, and integrated the college departments of the Ilocos Norte Agricultural College and the Ilocos Norte College of Arts and Trades.

MMSU’s mandate is to provide advanced instruction in the arts, agricultural and natural sciences, and technological and professional fields.

MMSU’s 300-hectare main campus is located in the heart of Batac, a peaceful young city conducive to educational and rural development. The university also has campuses in Laoag City and the towns of Currimao and Dingras. It offers 66 degree programs at the undergraduate and graduate levels. Majority of these programs are accredited at various levels by an evaluation body for state universities and colleges. It is recognized by the Commission on Higher Education as a Center of Excellence in Teacher Education and a Center of Development in Agriculture, Biology, Forestry, and Information Technology Education. It has also been chosen as one of the few national universities for agriculture and fisheries education in the Philippines.

Dr. Shirley Agrupis heads the MMSU.

To access MMSU studies, click here.

To know more about it, click here.